Support services in Helsinki

Student counsellors

You can contact your local student counsellor in crises, mental health and emotional well-being matters. They can discuss with you and determine any further support needs you may have.

Counsellors


Student deacon

Student deacon for DSS students

Tuija Samila
+358 (0)50 347 8243, tuija.samila@evl.fi


Workshops supporting learning

Students have the possibility to attend various workshops and groups supporting learning. The workshops are free of charge. Click the headlines!

Workshop for information searching

  • Support for information searching is available at the library in Helsinki. Every Thursday from 17 January the service is available online at 3:00–4:00pm.

Schedule, spring 2019

January

  • Tuesday 22 January at 12.30–2pm
  • Tuesday 29 January at 4.30–6pm

February

  • Tuesday 5 February at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 12 February at 4:30–6pm
  • Tuesday 19 February at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 26 February at 4:30–6pm

March

  • Tuesday 5 March at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 12 March at 4:30–6pm
  • Tuesday 19 March at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 26 March at 4:30–6pm

April

  • Tuesday 2 April at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 9 April at 4:30–6pm
  • Tuesday 16 April at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 23 April at 4:30–6pm

May

  • Tuesday 7 May at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 14 May at 4:30–6pm

 

Workshop for undone school work

Welcome to finish any pending assignments or school work. Support available both in Finnish and in English. Bring your own laptop, if possible.

Schedule, spring 2019

  • on Monday 14 January at 4:30–6:30 pm
  • on Monday 11 February at 4:30–6:30 pm
  • on Monday 4 March at 4:30–6:30 pm
  • on Friday 29 March at 12:00–6:00 pm, A day for finishing undone assignments
  • on Monday 15 April at 4:30–6:30 pm

Contact information

Questions? Contact the DSS team!

A day for finishing undone assignments

This day is about getting unfinished tasks done. The programme consists of writing and guidance in supportive atmosphere. Support for information searching from the library.

Led by Mia MäkinenMaarit Heusala and other staff.

More information about registration later.

More information


Schedule, spring 2019

Friday 29 March at 12–6pm

Thesis support

Are you behind on your thesis work? Do you need help to get or make progress? Our thesis support service is here to help!

National thesis support workshops are organised once a month in 2018. You can attend the workshops remotely or in person at our Helsinki campus. See you there!


Dates

  • Thursday 23 August 2:30–3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 20 September 2:30–3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 25 October 2:30–3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 29 November 2:30–3:30 p.m.

Collaborate link: https://eu.bbcollab.com/guest/D253B6A437D2A834392E32A647619C34