Support services in Helsinki

Student counsellors

You can contact your local student counsellor in crises, mental health and emotional well-being matters. They can discuss with you and determine any further support needs you may have.

Counsellors


Student Chaplain

Student Chaplain for DSS students

Tuija Samila
+358 (0)50 347 8243, tuija.samila@evl.fi


Workshops supporting learning

Students have the possibility to attend various workshops and groups supporting learning. The workshops are free of charge. Click the headlines!

Workshop for information searching

Support for information searching is available at the library in Helsinki.

Schedule, autumn 2019

September

  • Tuesday 3 September at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 10 September at 4:30–6pm
  • Tuesday 17 September at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 24 September at 4:30–6pm

October

  • Tuesday 1 October at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 8 October at 4:30–6pm
  • Tuesday 16 October at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 22 October at 4:30–6pm
  • Tuesday 29 October at 12:30–2pm

November

  • Tuesay 5 November at 4:30–6pm
  • (no workshop on Tuesday 12 November)
  • Tuesday 19 November at 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 26 November at 4:30–6pm

December

  • Tuesday 3 December 12:30–2pm
  • Tuesday 10 December 4:30–6pm

Workshop for undone school work

Welcome to finish any pending assignments or school work. Support available both in Finnish and in English. Bring your own laptop, if possible.

Schedule, autumn 2019

  • on Tuesday 19 November at 4:30–6:30 pm
  • on Monday 2 December at 4:00–6:00 pm

Contact information

Questions? Contact the DSS team!

A day for finishing undone assignments

This day is about getting unfinished tasks done. The programme consists of writing and guidance in supportive atmosphere. Support for information searching from the library.

Led by Mia MäkinenMaarit Heusala and other staff.

More information about registration later.

More information


Schedule, autumn 2019

Friday 25 October at 12–6 pm

Thesis support

Are you behind on your thesis work? Do you need help to get or make progress? Our thesis support service is here to help!

National thesis support workshops are organised once a month in 2019. You can attend the workshops remotely or in person at our Helsinki campus. See you there!


Dates

  • Thursday 29 August 2:30–3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 26 September 2:30–3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 24 October 2:30–3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday 28 November 2:30–3:30 p.m.

Collaborate link: https://eu.bbcollab.com/guest/D253B6A437D2A834392E32A647619C34