Skip to content

Tuition fees

Universities of applied sciences and universities in Finland charge Bachelor’s and Master’s level students a tuition fee for studying in languages other than Finnish or Swedish. EU/EEA and Swiss citizens are not charged the fee.

Tuition fees in the Bachelor’s programmes are 12 000 € per academic year.

For first-year students the tuition fee must be paid by the deadline for accepting the study place. For continuing students, the tuition fee must be paid by the end of August. The tuition fee cannot be paid in installments.

You are exempted from paying tuition fees if you have one of the documents mentioned below:

  • Passport or identity card to indicate the citizenship of EU/EEA/Switzerland
  • EU Blue Card
  • Continuous residence permit card in Finland, Type A permit. NB: A continuous residence permit (A-type permit) granted for studying in Finland (from 15 April 2022 onwards) doesn’t exempt student from paying the tuition fee.
  • EU Family Member’s Residence Card in Finland
  • Permanent residence permit card in Finland, Type P permit
  • EU residence permit for third-country citizens with long-term residence permit card in Finland (Type P-EU)


Please note that the scholarship system at Diak might change in the near future.

Diak does not grant scholarships for the first academic year.

Non-EU/EEA students who pay tuition may apply for a scholarship at the end of each academic year. Scholarships are based on study performance. All students who have obtained 55 credits or more during the previous academic year may be granted a scholarship. The scholarship covers 50% of one academic year’s tuition fee.

There are no full scholarships, hence the students are required to cover their living expenses themselves.

For further details see the scholarships -website.